KOLOT MAYIM REFORM TEMPLE

Victoria Reform Jewish Congregation Annual General Meeting Minutes June 28, 2023

Present (in person and on Zoom): Sam Margolis, Neil Marcovitz, Gilda Good, Morris & Janna Bleviss, Gilda Good, Neomi Summers, Sharon Shalinsky, Ariel Louwrier, Joel Fagan, Susan Halpert, Mary Casselman, Josh Torontow, R. Lynn Greenhough, Judith Belton; Doug Marshall and Pat Dunphy, Juliet Simon, Richard Weiss, Carolyn Canny, Sarah Brickett, Stephen Larre, Leah Smith, Peter Barwin, David Torontow, Katrina Greenfield, Jeff Kushner, Lisbeth Louwrier, Charlayne & Murray Ashford, Les Halpert, Jessica Havens.

As the president, Doug Marshall could not attend the meeting in-person, the meeting was chaired by Neil Marcovitz, vice-president. The minutes taken by the board secretary, Judith Belton.

- 1. Having determined that there was quorum, the chair called the meeting to order at 7 PM.
- 2. Rabbi Lynn presented the D'var Torah.
- 3. Adoption of AGM Agenda was moved by Susan Halpert and 2nd by Josh Torontow. Carried
- 4. Adoption of 2022 AGM Minutes was moved by Morris Bleviss and seconded by Joel Fagan. Carried

5. Reports

- The president's report was moved by Doug Marshall and seconded by Sharon Shalinsky. Carried
- b. The membership report was moved by Pat Dunphy and seconded by Josh Torontow.– adopted
- c. Treasurer's Report
 - i. The Financial Statement to May 31, 2023, was moved by Treasurer Morris Bleviss and seconded by Neomi. Carried
 - ii. The proposed 2023-2024 budget was moved by Morris Bleviss and seconded by Josh Torontow. Carried
- 6. Adoption of the new constitution was moved by Joel Fagan and seconded by Jessica Havens. Carried by a two-thirds majority.
- 7. Adoption of the new set of bylaws was moved by Josh Torontow and seconded by Jessica Havens. Carried by a two-thirds majority.

8. Election of Officers: The report of the Nominations committee, placing the proposed board members in nomination. After three calls for additional nominations, no further nominations were made and therefore all the candidates named in the committee report were declared elected by acclamation. The board will consist of:

PRESIDENT: Doug Marshall
VICE PRESIDENT: Neil Marcovitz
SECRETARY: Judith Belton
TREASURER: Stephen Larre
PAST PRESIDENT: Sharon Shalinsky

DIRECTORS-AT-LARGE:

Carolyn Canny Gilda Good Susan Halpert Ariel Louwrier Joshua Torontow Marilyn Wolovick

- 9. Awards and Honours: The Louis Sherman Award was presented by 2022 winner, Joel Fagan, to Neomi Summers for her inspirational service as a leader and teacher. Morris Bleviss was also honoured for his dedicated service at Kolot Mayim, including his many years as treasurer.
- 10. Adjournment: Having completed all agenda items, a motion to adjourn by Joel Fagan and seconded by Ariel Louwrier was carried. The meeting adjourned at 8 PM.